November 17, 2021

Alaska Delegation Responds to Biden Administration Actions to Suppress SE Alaska’s Economy


Vilsack Takes Steps to Repeal Alaska Exemption to Roadless Rule

U.S. Senators Lisa Murkowski, Dan Sullivan, and Congressman Don Young, all R-Alaska, today issued the following statements after the Biden administration published its Agenda of Regulatory Actions calling for repeal of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) final rule published in October 2020, “Special Areas; Roadless Area Conservation; National Forest System Lands in Alaska;” to exempt the Tongass National Forest from the 2001 Roadless Rule. 

“In Southeast Alaska, where the Tongass makes up the vast majority of the land base, the one-size-fits-all Roadless Rule has restricted access needed for tourism, recreation, timber, mining, transportation, and the…

Read full article here: