June 19, 2021
Technology

Users not accepting privacy terms to face limited functionality: WhatsApp

WhatsApp will not delete any account for not accepting its new privacy update, but users not agreeing to the controversial terms after “several weeks” will not be able to access their chat list, and eventually, will not be able to answer incoming phone or video calls over the app.

Last week, the Facebook-owned company had said users not accepting its privacy policy update by its May 15 deadline will not face deletion or lose functionality of their accounts on the said date.

WhatsApp, on its website, said it is continuing to remind those who haven’t had the chance to review and accept the terms, and after a period of several weeks, “the reminder (that) people receive will eventually become persistent”.

It, however, did not divulge the timelines set for these reminders.

Explaining the course of action after ‘persistent’ reminders are sent to users,…

Read full article…